Luis M. Mansilla (1959) and Emilio Tuñón Alvarez (1959) founded Mansilla + Tuñón Architects in 1992.

Mansilla + Tuñón Architects is a Madrid based office, dedicated to the confrontation of theory, and academic practice, with design and building activity. They have received the Mies van der Rohe Award and the Spanish Architecture Award.

Emilio Tuñón and Luis Mansilla are full professors at the Architectural Design Department of the Architecture School of Madrid, and have taught at Princeton University School of Architecture (springs 2008, 2009 and 2010), Harvard Graduate School of Design (spring 2006), Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (spring 2005), Barcelona International Architecture School (2001-2002), Frankfurt Städelschule (1997-1998), Architecture San Pablo CEU Fundation (2000-2001), Barcelona Architecture School (1999-2000), New Puerto Rico  Architecture School (summer 2000) and Navarra Architecture School (springs 1999 and 2011).

In 1993 they created the thought exchange cooperative CIRCO, for which they publish a bulletin of the same name.

This bulletin has been awarded the following awards:

2007 FAD Award, 3rd.

2002 Iberoamerican Architecture and Engineering Biennial Publication Prize.

1995 COAM Annual Prize for Cultural Initiatives Award.

Mansilla + Tuñón have won the following architecture competitions:

2010 International Center of Visigothic Culture in Toledo.

2008 Energy Dome in the Enviromental City in Soria.

2007 C.I.C.C.M. International Congress Center of Madrid.

2007 Museum of Migrations in Algeciras.

2005 Helga de Alvear Foundation in Cáceres.

2004 Urban Planning for Valbuena in Logroño.

2003 Public Library in Calle de los Artistas in Madrid.

2002 Museum of Cantabria in Santander.

2002 Spanish Royal Collections Museum in Madrid.

2001 Sanfermines Museum in Pamplona.

2000 Cultural Center in Brescia.

1998 Castellón Fine Arts Museum.

1996 Leon’s Concert Hall.,

1995 Madrid’s Regional Cultural Center.

Their projects include

2011 Lalin Town Hall.

2010 Atrio Hotel in Cáceres.

2010 Helga de Alvear Foundation in Cáceres.  

2009 Twin Houses in Tarifa.

2005 Pedro Barrié de la Maza Foundation in Vigo.

2004 MUSAC in León.,

2003 León Auditorium.

2002 Madrid Regional Documentary Center.

2000 Castellón Fine Arts Museum.

1998 Indoor Swiming-Pool in San Fernando de Henares.

1996 Zamora Museum. 

Their work has been awarded the following prizes:

2011 FAD Award 2011.

2011 Aplus Award 2011.

2009 AD Architectural Digest Award.

2007 Mies van der Rohe Award.

2007 FAD award.

2007 Saloni Award.

2006 VIA award.

2003 Spanish Architecture Award.

2001 FAD Award.

2000 COACV Award.

2000 Excellent Work Award.

1998 First Iberoamerican Architecture and Engineering Bienal.

1997 Foundation CEOE Award.

1996 Arquitecti Award.